East Carolina University offensive lineman Fernando Frye was named a recipient of the 2020 University Scholar-Athlete Award by The National Football Foundation’s Bill Dooley Chapter on Monday, according to a release by the team.

Frye was granted a sixth and final year of eligibility by the NCAA in January and will serve as an important member of ECU football’s offensive line as a graduate student in 2020.

In two years with the Pirates, the 6’3″, 289-pound Frye has appeared in 20 games, including all 12 in 2019. After Cortez Herrin went down with an injury against William & Mary last season, Frye stepped into the starting left guard spot and played well down the stretch.

According to the release, Frye found himself on the academic Honor Roll and Dean’s List last year and graduated ECU in December of 2019 with a 3.72 GPA and a degree in criminal justice.

Alex Turner was the most recent ECU recipient of the award in 2019. Other past winners include Warren Harvey in 2015, J.T. Boyd in 2016, Worth Gregory in 2017 and Austin Teague in 2018.

Trenton Gill from NC State, Quentin Harris from Duke, Nick Polino from UNC and Isaiah Totten from NC Central were the other winners of the award from the Bill Dooley Chapter.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s